#1 Administrator

Administrator

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 422 posts

Posted 11 October 2004 - 03:48 PM

Posted: Mon 25/11/2002

I am a research student and I have been attended a departmental seminar hearing discussion about qualitative research which made me confusing. I am not sure if it is appropriate to present the issues for discussion here but would deeply appreciate any guidiance to books or literatures and responses. The issues are:

1. Qualitative research must not involve numbers (statistical analyses). Otherwise, they are not qualitative research because they violate the assumption of qualitative research (I am sorry that I did not no the assumption of qualitative research. Does it like the assumption in statistical analysis?)

2. Doing chi-square comparisons on the differences in the percentage of yes/no responses between groups (teenagers, parents, and teachers) is not "scientific" as the groups are not sampled in random. How should be the sampling issue be solved when doing statistical analysis in qualitative research? Or is it legitimate to do statistical analysis in qualitative research?

3. Most qualitative research (although what I have heard is "all qualitative research", but I think using "all" has a very high probability of being wrong) is about finding themes, and we must present the themes if we are doing qualitative research

Posted: Tue 26/11/2002

As a professor of anthropology, I feel your questions give me an opportunity to give something back to the listserv group. Your questions are important so I want to answer each in turn.