kqh290

Seeing how my transcripts are coded - stripes aren't working for me

kqh290    0

I am an Nvivo newbie, who has just coded all of my interviews (with way too many nodes 450!! which I am now sorting through, organizing hiearchally, finding synonyms, etc)

However once I have coded my sources, I can't really see what I have coded where from within the source itself. My coded sections are highlighted, but I don't know how to see which nodes I've coded. I don't find the coding stripes at all helpful, I just want to see a list of the codes I have used on a selection.

I've tried exporting to word (I can get my source classifications shown but not the nodes) and printing to PDF (it's one hot confusing mess).

Do you have any tips to help me see how I have coded my transcripts within Nvivo and how to export the coded transcripts with codes to Word.

Thanks in advance.

Melissa

PS. I don't have any problem generating a report showing me which nodes I have used and where I have used them for an interview - these are presented alphabetically by node. What I would like is to see the nodes in a 3rd column beside my transcript sections - column 1 timestamp, column2 text, column 3 nodes.

QSRSupport    75

Hi Melissa,

I understand you have mentioned Coding stripes aren't helpful. However, you can display Coding stripes adjacent to the text on the same page. You will be able to tell which nodes are coded at any given section of the text.

You can also print the text with coding stripes on the same page. See the link below for more information:

http://help-nv10.qsrinternational.com/desktop/procedures/use_coding_stripes_to_explore_coding.htm#MiniTOCBookMark16

If you install a PDF printer, you can export this information to a PDF file.

Regards,

Mohammad

kqh290    0

Hi Mohammad,

Unfortunately I found your answer about as useful as the coding stripes, as I had already read and understood the help page you linked to.